Banner Spring for Athletics Awards 

Banner Spring for Athletics Awards 
Suzanne Morrissey

There was a lot to celebrate at Brewster’s Spring Sports Awards event on May 24. Director of Athletics Connor Wells first invited the assembled students, faculty, and staff to recognize the three freshly minted championship banners. Coaches Matt Butcher and Laura Cooper and their undefeated 2021 Girls’ Varsity Soccer team posed with the Lakes Region and NEPSAC Class C Championship banner. Next Coaches Smith, Lee, and Cushing joined their 2021-22 Prep Basketball team stood with their NEPSAC Class AAA Championship banner. And finally, the NEPSAC Class C Champion 2021-2022 Girls’ Varsity Basketball stepped forward with Coaches Brooks and McDuffee. 

“It has truly been a tremendous school year for Brewster Athletics, and it has been a great Spring season overall. With 13 teams competing inter-scholastically this term, Brewster finished with a record of 63-56-1, producing a noteworthy winning percentage of 53%. Four Varsity programs finished in the Top 3 in their league, and one exceptional program finished as the outright #1 seed after regular season play,” Coach Wells said. “I want to stress; however, that winning games is not just how we measure success in the Brewster Athletic arena. The will to win—and to always try our best—is important, but even more vital is the way in which we compete, and the exceptional character we model as Bobcats on a daily basis—as coaches, student-athletes, and fans.”
But Wells also noted that Bobcat Nation—its coaches, student-athletes, and fans—have “work to do in this department,” adding, “I 100% commit to you now to be a better Athletic Director moving forward—to help guide us more thoughtfully in the athletic arena toward our Brewster core values of respect, inclusivity, and ownership. I am so proud of our school for its spirit and palpable love of community. I look forward to working together with all of you to make our school and school culture better.” 

Of course, no Brewster Bobcat event would be complete without noting the formidable contribution of Kate Turner, who retires after more than three decades in Brewster Athletics. “Although the Brewster Athletics department and school community will sadly miss Kate Turner next year as she moves on to her well-deserved retirement this summer,” Wells commented, “I look forward to building upon the foundation she has created here at Brewster, always working to make our school better.”

302 AND 402 CLUB
As is tradition, Coach Wells began the awards by announcing the members of the 302 and 402 Clubs, awarded to students who have played at least two interscholastic sports for their entire three-and four-year careers at Brewster. Each student-athlete received a commemorative T-shirt.
302 Club Members
Katie Carey
Ezra Colcord
Fiona Connolly
Lila Glanville
Axel Keller
Riley Knott
Maeve O'Keefe
Sophia Renaud

402 Club Members
Emilie Alpert
Jake Apgar
Rocco Coschigano
Henry Dumont
Clarissa Hayes
Tim O'Keefe
Courtney Quirk
Betty Rao
Lauren Ward
Next the ceremony turned to those students who achieved a perfect interscholastic career. “This next group of exceptional individuals have competed inter-scholastically every single season throughout the entirety of their Brewster Career. For these student-athletes there is truly no off-season,” Coach Wells explained, calling up
Morgan Bovardi (soccer, basketball, lacrosse)
George Rumsey (crew, basketball, baseball)
Megan Ward (field hockey, ice hockey, lacrosse)
Clarissa Hayes (field hockey, ice hockey, softball)
Courtney Quirk (soccer, basketball, lacrosse)
Lauren Ward (soccer, ice hockey, lacrosse)

Fourteen Brewster players earned the title of Lakes Region All-Stars. Those student-athletes are
Girls’ Lacrosse
Lauren Ward '22
Maeve O’Keefe '22
Morgan Bovardi '22
Courtney Quirk '22

Boys’ Lacrosse
Chase Wesley '22
Chase Gregory '22

Bobby Winter '22
Jake Apgar '22

Teagan Garfield ‘24
Katie Collins ‘25

Boys’ Tennis
Tyler Cogan ‘24
Blake Flather '22

Girls’ Tennis
Nora Sears ‘23
Abbey Fleming ‘23
The program then showcased individual Spring Team recaps and awards, listed below. 
Boys’ Varsity Lacrosse
MVP Chase Wesley
MIP Aidan Namkoong            
Girls' Varsity Lacrosse                                        
MIP Luce Colcord
Coaches’ Award Lauren Ward

Boys' Varsity Tennis                        
Coach’s Award Blakesson Flather
Girls’ Varsity Tennis                       
MIP Emma Tutaj
Coaches’ Award Kate Zdunczyk
MIP Ellery Gnazzo                 
Varsity Softball                            
MVP Teagan Garfield    
MIP Hannah Yang            
Coaches’ Award Paulina Trott
Boys’ Crew
MIP Axel Keller    
Girls’ Crew                
Coaches’ Award Riley Knott
Coaches’ Award Libby Harris
MVP Lila Glanville

MVP Poshu Ng
MVP Maggie Doyle
Coaches’ Award Chase Marshall

Varsity Baseball
MVP Bobby Winter
Coaches’ Award Mitch McQuillan
Coaches’ Award Jake Apgar
Boys' JV Lacrosse        
MIP Ben Guiliano                            
Coaches’ Award Will Budnik                    
Coaches’ Award  Casey Light

Girls' JV Lacrosse         
Coaches’ Award Zion Runnion        
Coaches’ Award Stella Treble 
MIP Reese Cronin        
Boys' JV Tennis    
MVP Bach Nguyen                
MIP David Moreno Perez    
Coach’s Award Ryo Yamamura

Girls’ JV Tennis
MVP Anna Jo
Coach’s Award Kellye Nguyen


Boys’ Varsity Tennis took home the coveted Director’s Prize, given to the interscholastic team with a winning record, the highest average Rec Scores, and Team GPA! Boys’ JV-A Basketball came in second, and Boys’ Varsity Soccer scored third. 
After taking care of some housekeeping announcements (turning in uniforms and cleaning out lockers!), Coach Wells, thanked the crowd for their spirit and passion for school and sport. “I have LOVED being a part of, joining, and helping to lead this special place. I look forward to an even better 2022-2023,” he said. “Go Bobcats!”

See photo album from sports awards and team photos here.

Leave a Comment Below